IHS The Continuing Anglican Church


    • Our faith is in one God – Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.
    • Our hope is in the only Saviour, Jesus Christ, who died and rose again for us.
    • Our final authority and unchangeable standard for Christian faith and life is the Bible.
    • Our doctrine is expressed in the Apostles, Nicene and Athanasian Creeds, the Book of Common Prayer (1662), the 39 Articles of Religion, and the Ordinal.

The Continuing Anglican Church was formed to ensure the upholding of the Anglican faith and the Word of God. From time to time it is necessary to make adjustments and theological changes, but always within the framework of the Bible.

We stand with the Global Anglican Future Conference (Gafcon) by assenting to the Jerusalem Declaration as the contemporary expression of Anglican doctrine and practice.

Why “Continuing”?

We believe that traditional forms of Anglican faith and worship have been unacceptably revised and abandoned within Anglican Communion in recent decades and, therefore, that we are “continuing” and preserving both Anglican lines of apostolic succession and historic Anglican belief and practice.

Relationship with Anglican Communion

The Continuing Anglican Church is not part of the Anglican Communion. We retain autonomy. We disagree to the Anglican Communion largely in the ordination of openly homosexual bishops and other clergies.

Women and Holy Orders

To promote Peace, Unity, and Reconciliation, the Continuing Anglican Church bestows Holy Orders upon those who profess the call of Christ. We recognize the Holy Office of Deaconess for Women called to serve the church.


The Continuing Anglican Church is keeping its prevailing self-identity as a via media of Western Christianity. Anglican sacramental theology expresses elements in keeping with its status as a church in the Catholic tradition and a church of the Reformation. Anglicanism places on the sacraments as a means of grace, sanctification and forgiveness as expressed in the church’s liturgy.

The Continuing Anglican Church accepts Thirty-Nine Articles as a norm for Anglican teaching. The Continuing Anglican Church recognizes two sacraments only, the Baptism and the Eucharist, as having been ordained by Christ and as necessary for salvation.

Five other acts are not to be counted for Sacraments of the Gospel, being such as have grown partly of the corrupt following of the Apostles, partly are states of life allowed in the Scriptures; but yet have not like nature of Sacraments with Baptism, and the Lord’s Supper, for that they have not any visible sign or ceremony ordained of God.

Origin of Formation

Derived from the Church of England, first commissioned on September 2nd 1921 in the City of Chicago, by George Alexander McGuire, an Afro-Caribbean Bishop who was born on 28 March 1866 in Swetes, Antigua, immigrated to the United States of America, joined the Episcopal Church and was rejected by his Anglican brethren after he had been elected to the office of Bishop, was consecrated first Bishop and Primate.

Recommissioned on November 1st 1998 by Archbishop George Ford and Wilfred Potier of Brooklyn, New York and Archbishop Vincent Waterman of Nova Scotia, Canada.


“Go therefore and make disciples of all nations…” (Matthew 28:19, NRSV)

“Know Christ Know Truth, No Christ No Truth.”


THE CONTINUING ANGLICAN CHURCH, The Communion of Continuing Anglicans (Abbr: COANCH)

Legal Status

Legally incorporated within the laws of the Republic of Uganda.



The design dates back from the late 14th century of Church of England. Adjustments have been made fro the Continuing Anglican Church Mission.

Apostolic Succession

The Continuing Anglican Church maintains and supports Apostolic Succession. It is three-fold Orders of Bishops, Priests, and Deacons.

The Ministry of Laity

Our Clergy are dedicated to “equipping” the Church by teaching the faith in order that each Christian may go into the world to proclaim the Gospel and fulfill the work, mercy, and love that Christ passed on to us.

Cooperation with others

It is our intent to reach out to all offering ourselves as examples of Christian love while preserving our Anglican heritage and traditions. We formed the Communion of Continuing Anglicans and we offer Godly fellowship through dialogue and discussion.

Order of precedence

Archbishop Primus inter pares, Primate, Archbishop, Lead Bishop, Bishop, Vicar General, Archdeacon, Dean, Canon, Priest, Deacon, and Laity.

Primus inter pares

The Continuing Anglican Church Consistory, on August 2019 elected The Most Revd Dr Isaac Shunsuke Sato, in accordance with the Constitution and Canons of the Continuing Anglican Church, to Archbishop Primus inter pares and Primate of the Continuing Anglican Church and the Communion of Continuing Anglicans.


“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.”

THE CONTINUING ANGLICAN CHURCH COVER The Continuing Anglican Church|the Communion of Continuing Anglicans

THE CONTINUING ANGLICAN CHURCH, the Communion of Continuing Anglicans, stand with the Global Anglican Future Conference (Gafcon) by assenting to the Jerusalem Declaration.